• Afhalen na 2 uur in een winkel met voorraad
  • Gratis thuislevering in België vanaf € 25
  • Ruim aanbod met meer dan 10 miljoen producten
  • Afhalen na 2 uur in een winkel met voorraad
  • Gratis thuislevering in België vanaf € 25
  • Ruim aanbod met meer dan 10 miljoen producten
  1. Boeken
  2. Non-fictie
  3. Mens & Maatschappij
  4. Sociologie
  5. Genderstudies
  6. Unorthodox: Mi Verdadera Historia / Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Unorthodox: Mi Verdadera Historia / Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Deborah Feldman
Paperback | Spaans
€ 21,45
+ 42 punten
Eenvoudig bestellen
Veilig betalen
Gratis thuislevering vanaf € 25 (via bpost)
Gratis levering in je Standaard Boekhandel

Omschrijving

El libro en que se basa la serie de Netflix

«Millones de personas confinadas en todo el mundo se han dejado fascinar estos días por Unorthodox [...], un mundo tan exótico como real» (Ana Carbajosa, El País)

Como miembro de los Satmar, una comunidad de judíos ultraortodoxos en Williamsburg (Nueva York), Deborah Feldman crece bajo un estricto código de costumbres que rige desde su idioma -el yidis- o su indumentaria hasta sus lecturas y las personas con las que le es permitido relacionarse. Siendo adolescente, intuye que puede existir una forma de vida alternativa entre los rascacielos de Manhattan, y se debate entre la responsabilidad de ser una buena judía jasídica y sus anhelos de independencia. Pero pronto se ve atrapada en un matrimonio concertado que resulta frustrante, sexual y emocionalmente. Todo cambia cuando, a los diecinueve años, da a luz a su hijo y comprende que, a pesar de todos los obstáculos, ha de encontrar para ambos un camino hacia la libertad.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

Now a Netflix original series!


Unorthodox
is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah's desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path--for herself and her son--to happiness and freedom.

Remarkable and fascinating, this "sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story" (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette) is one you won't be able to put down.

Specificaties

  • Productcode (EAN): 9781644732656
  • Verschijningsdatum: 18/08/2020
  • Aantal bladzijden: 392
  • Uitgeverij: Lumen Press
  • Auteur(s): Deborah Feldman
  • Afmetingen: 155 mm x 231 mm
Toon meer

Beoordelingen

Uitgebreide specificaties

Betrokkenen

Inhoud

  • Aantal bladzijden: 392
  • Taal: Spaans

Eigenschappen

  • Productcode (EAN): 9781644732656
  • Verschijningsdatum: 18/08/2020
  • Uitvoering: Paperback
  • Bestandsformaat: Trade paperback (VS)
  • Afmetingen: 155 mm x 231 mm
  • Gewicht: 476 g